C++ Builder 2009, Boost & bcbboost

The number of visits to this blog has increased in the last few days. I obviously don’t know for sure, but C++ Builder 2009 was recently released and one possible reason for the increased traffic is that people are looking for information on Boost support for the new compiler.

As you probably know CB 2009 includes a custom version of Boost 1.35 . This includes a very high number of specific changes which, combined with the standard compliance improvements in the compiler, increase dramatically the level of support compared with previous releases. I would consider this a very convenient solution for those that do not need the latest libraries.

I’m currently in the process of helping the CodeGear people merge their changes into the official Boost repository and I hope to finish in time for the next Boost release, 1.37 . Should I not make it I plan to check with CodeGear whether they have any objection on issuing their patches through bcbboost first.

I currently have no plans for a 1.36 backport, but if you direly need it, let me know.

Leave a Reply

