Introducing Boost.SqlCli

During the last few months I’ve been working on and off on a basic C++ library to interface relational databases. I was inspired by a discussion on the Boost developers’ mailing list and by SOCI, a rather popular library whose programming interface I’m not very fond of. The idea is to define an API that may be considered suitable for inclusion in a future version of the C++ standard and to provide an experimental implementation. My aim is to implement an ODBC backend and possibly also a PostgreSQL one.

SqlCli doesn’t have a home yet; I plan to upload it to the new Boost Sandbox whenever the current discussions on its structure settle to an agreement. Meanwhile you can find a not too old snapshot in the Boost Vault, which also contains all the currently available documentation. Since I put it there very little went on: I mainly gathered a few ideas and many doubts. I plan to post both to this blog, in the hope of gathering useful suggestions 🙂

Leave a Reply

